WHAT DO YOU DO IN YOUR FREE TIME?

Michael Rada
4 min readSep 14, 2022

I was asked several times during the discussions at a break time of a conference WHAT I DO IN MY FREE TIME.

It is an interesting question for I did not realize ANY TIME IS FREE

I value all the time same, being the most valuable “asset” in our life

To express it with different words

  • Last 9 years since I began to build wasteless world I have not had a single holiday
  • My working week has 7 days
  • My working day (Mo-Fr) starts at 4 or 5 AM and ends up at 5 or 6 PM, and after arriving home I prepare the work for the next day. Over weekends I spend less time in the office, but work more at home (like now)

WORK TIME and PRIVATE TIME turned into TIME

The reason is that every moment of your life, in every place, during every occasion, you can prevent waste from happening

This is what I do

For one of the questioners, it was very strange. He, a young man, was confused, that I do not have free time. To help him, I ask him the following two questions

  1. Can you imagine working without holidays?

No, he said, I can not imagine this, for I need to relax and do other things

2. Can you imagine having a holiday, without work?

Yes, he said, this is why I work so hard to reach this stage soon

We laugh and after a while, he stop laughing and look at me, he said “I DO UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU MEAN. THANK YOU.”

I hope you do understand as well because if you do, you will start right now and understand that no time is FREE.

Until I was 42, all my professional career of 23 years, I was told that work must be finished before I can enjoy my free time. Not a single employer, no matter if he or she was Czech, British, Israeli, or Japanese, wish me to enjoy my work, just to enjoy my holiday knowing that it is for me and my body and mind healthier.

When I become an entrepreneur, I set my aim, to build WASTELESS WORLD FOR ALL. I was set as one and only aim.

I just wonder what is the aim of these representatives of generally accepted role models

And what is the aim of the remaining five in the corner? Who does deserve a holiday more?

Two days ago, I have received a letter from a UNIVERSITY on which I delivered one of the last INDUSTRY 5.0 KEYNOTES

The distance between Plzen, Czechia, and MAHARAJA AGRASEN UNIVERSITY is almost 8.000 km, The preparation of my keynote took a month, delivery one hour, and the discussion 30 minutes.

WAS IT WORK or FREE TIME?

The reason why I am asking is well expressed by Mr. Director's message. I am sure I am not the only one who received similar, but the careful selection of words proves Mr. Director, his colleagues and the students really enjoy my speech same as I did.

At the LOGISTICS RIDE conference from which I returned just before midnight yesterday, a few people told me that after I delivered my keynote, they have been speechless for 15 minutes.

This keynote grow in my head for almost 2 years and only 4 months took finalization and preparation.

Was it work or holiday, if I enjoy it so much?

I hope you understand what I mean and do believe you start to ask yourself what to do not to waste your time. This is good because you seem to predict the CORE TASK of the day

DEFINE WHICH WORK OR ACTIVITY OF THOSE YOU DO, YOU ENJOY MOST

I am not asking what is best paid. I am not asking where your role is highest and I am even not asking where you spend most of your time

I am asking what you love

In a few minutes, I will close my laptop. Put it in a 60 years old folder/map originally used to store secret documents, and will ride on my ELECTRIC UNICYCLE home again. Instead of 3 km, I will ride 17 km to do what I love, before I arrive home, take my computer and do what I love.

For the last nine years of my life, I do what I love and I love what I do

I wish you all to do the same soon to live a MEANINGFUL LIFE

Have a nice time free of waste and wasting in all its forms, stay safe and free

Michael Rada, Human

--

--

Michael Rada

I am HUMAN. This is the only title you can find after 30 years in business on my business card. Since 2013 I build wasteless world. I am founder of INDUSTRY 5.0