AS THE BREAD WE EAT IS THE LIGHT WE NEED

Michael Rada
4 min readSep 15, 2022

The SUN gives us light and heat and we are taught that it is necessary for the existence of life.

Despite that, we run away from it, and hide inside our houses to turn artificial lights on, that, in its latest generation (LED), do not emit heat, just light, usually missing one or another color from the full spectrum.

We buy BREAD because it is fresh and smells so nice and instead of eating it and enjoying every bite, we put it on the counter, cutting just a slice or piece of it and let the rest become hard, or store it in a plastic bag, turning hardness in chewiness with no taste at all. In the end, we buy new bread because it is fresh and smells so nice, and bringing it home we throw the old bread in the garbage, or if available, on the compost.

We speak about value, to waste.

We waste, to value more

More than a decade ago I realized we are not living in the ICE AGE, but in the WASTE AGE, and instead of being satisfied like everybody around I start to change it with my work. I have never Protested for a change. I never call others to change first so my life is better. I do it first, before asking others to try.

My working day usually starts in the office around 5 AM and ends up at 5 PM except for Thursdays in which I stay overnight. I never turn the light on, so the only light is being delivered by the streetlights on the bridge in front of my window and the computer screen.

I wait for the SUN, the same as nature does.

When I was a teenager and a young adult, I have a phase in my life when I blind my eyes in the house of my parents and did standard tasks blindfolded to make other senses sharper. It was easy to walk to the toilet, brush my teeth or wash my hands. It was harder to make tea by putting boiling water in my cup, or cutting a slice of bread and putting jam on it.

Not to burn my fingers I have learned to listen to the water.

Not to cut my fingers I have learned to feel the resistance of the bread which is different when the knife is close to the end

Not to get lost, everything has its dedicated place, to be found even during the night time.

In many factories, offices, and cities, the light is on permanently, the entire day and the bread can be bought 24/7. All without consideration that most get wasted, because nobody there to enjoy.

On my way to work, I am riding daily on my Electric Unicycle next to the courthouse and neighboring hotel. One is dark before 5 AM but the second has a restaurant, lobby and other spaces lighted permanently. Recently I ride there during the morning Autumn fog, after night rain and the sprinklers watering grass on the terrace have been on.

WASTING IS HABIT

Technology does not care, same as AI.

Same as people who turn the name of INDUSTRY 5.0 into a sales tool for more machines and technology, instead of following its systematic waste prevention principles.

All the people prefer to see full garbage bins representing full bank accounts because garbage containers represent private piggy banks filled with public other people's money

We waste the light and the energy needed to replace the sunlight and we forgot that it would be enough just to go out to get all we need for free

This is the reason for the growing waste volume

FREE means WASTED FIRST

I do not know, who recognizes this first, if the THIRTEEN FAMILIES, or someone else, but WASTING becomes an omnipresent MONEY MAKING tool for a few and a burden for the rest.

The CORE TASK OF THE DAY

FOR 24 HOURS DO NOT TURN THE LIGHT ON

Have a nice time free of waste and wasting in all its forms, stay safe and free

Michael Rada, HUMAN

--

--

Michael Rada

I am HUMAN. This is the only title you can find after 30 years in business on my business card. Since 2013 I build wasteless world. I am founder of INDUSTRY 5.0